Porsche takes dramatic 24 Hours of Le Mans win

Porsche claimed a document nineteenth outright victory within the 24 Hours of Le Mans, in a gruelling race during which all 5 works LMP1 machines suffered main issues.

The trio of Timo Bernhard, Brendon Hartley and Earl Bamber topped the rostrum of their Porsche 919 Hybrid, regardless of seemingly dropping out of rivalry once they have been pressured to pit resulting from a motor generator challenge within the fourth hour.

However they moved again into rivalry as the opposite works Porsche and Toyota prototypes hit hassle. The #7 Toyota TS050 Hybrid of Mike Conway, Kamui Kobayashi and Stéphane Sarrazin dominated the early portion of the race, till being sidelined by a clutch drawback within the tenth hour.

The 24 Hours of Le Mans – by the numbers

The sister #eight machine of Anthony Davidson, Sébastien Buemi and Kazuki Nakajima had already fallen out of rivalry by that time, dropping 29 laps after having to pit to exchange the entrance motor and battery.

Toyota’s problem then crumbled completely. quarter-hour after the #7 automotive’s retirement, the third TS050 Hybrid suffered terminal injury after a conflict with an LMP2 automotive.

Toyota’s misfortunes handed the #1 Porsche of Andre Lotterer, Neel Jani and Brit Nick Tandy an enormous lead – however with lower than 4 hours to go that machine was sidelined by an engine drawback.

That arrange a dramatic end, with the second-division LMP2 Jackie Chan DC Racing ORECA of Ho-Pin Tung, Oliver Jarvis and Thomas Laurent assuming the lead, however being chased down by the recovering #2 Porsche.

The quicker LMP1 Porsche ultimately regained the lead with simply over an hour to go, and held on to the end. Second place for the Jackie Chan ORECA was nonetheless the very best-ever end by an LMP2 automotive. Fellow LMP2 runners Nelson Piquet Jr, David Heinemeir Hansson and Mathias Beche completed third general.

GTE Professional: Aston claimed last-lap win

Aston Martin clinched a dramatic victory within the GTE Professional division, with the #ninety seven machine of Jonathan Adam, Daniel Serra and Darren Turner snatching the lead on the ultimate lap.

The #ninety seven Vantage had began from pole, however after an in depth race was pressured to chase fown the #sixty three Chevrolet Corvette of Jan Magnussen, Antonio Garcia and Jordan Taylor within the closing levels. The battle was solely settled when the Corvette picked up a puncture coming because it crossed the road to start out the ultimate lap. 

That puncture additionally value Chevrolet second, with the Ford GT of Harry Tincknell, Andy Priaulx and Luis Derani additionally going previous on the ultimate tour.

Former F1 racer Will Stevens, Robert Smith and Dries Vanthoor claimed victory within the GTE Am division within the JMW Motorsport Ferrari 488 GTE.

Add Comment